Arkansas Hall of Fame writer Dot Hatfield

Dot Hatfield is in the Hall-of-Fame

Dot Hatfield was inducted into the 2020 Arkansas Writers’ Hall of Fame during the 76th Annual Arkansas Writers Conference, August 1. The event took place at the Hilton Garden Inn in North Little Rock.

The Arkansas Writers Conference began in 1944, under the guidance of the journalism department of Arkansas State Teachers College (now UCA) and continues to be sponsored each year by the Arkansas Pioneer Branch of the National League of American Pen Women. With presentations and workshops this event provides learning and networking for writers of all levels.

In 1989, the AWC instituted the Arkansas Writers’ Hall of Fame, with at least one Arkansas writer being named to the Hall of Fame each year. To be eligible, an author must have a strong Arkansas connection and must have published at least three books, won a significant literary award, or demonstrated exceptional ability in column writing, editing, screenwriting, or playwriting.

Dot, past president of White County Creative Writers, has published four novels: The Last to Know, To Find a Home, An Ordinary Day, and Worth the Candle, the final debuting in 2019. Her one-act-play, RIP, Emma Lou Briggs, was produced at Center on the Square Performing Arts Theater in 2011. Her freelance work has appeared in several state and regional publications and numerous anthologies.

Dot is active in church and community projects, serving on the governing boards of The Shepherd’s Center of Beebe and First United Methodist Mothers Day Out Ministry. A Certified Lay Speaker, her devotional writings have been featured in the Upper Room, Mature Living, Church Educator, and Ministry Now.

You can visit her blog at

One thought on “Dot Hatfield is in the Hall-of-Fame

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *